Kerstin’s Pantry

This interview is by my mom, Kerstin, who lives in Florida and loves to travel. My mom has impeccable style, is a wonderful grandma, and we enjoyed annual mother-daughter trips before I became a mom (but we hope to get back to it!).

Where do you like to shop for food?

Publix, small local meat stores, and fish boxes and veggie boxes online.

What do you consider pantry staples?
Tomatoes in a can, rice, coconut milk, pasta (but I barely cook pasta)
What five ingredients can always be found in your kitchen?
Lemon, milk, yogurt, lettuce, butter.
What are your top three favorite kitchen tools?
Small mixer I use to mix soups. My big tongs. A pair of small silicone spoons and a fork.
What ingredient do you like sneaking into everything you can?
What’s your favorite cookbook?
Vår kokbok.
What’s your favorite food combo that packs a punch of flavor?
Shrimp or chicken with lemon/ chili/olive oil.
What’s your all-time favorite grocery store or market?
Ica Maxi and Trader Joe’s.
It’s a weekday and you need something quick. What do you make?
Shrimp or chicken.
It’s a Sunday and you want to make something nice. What do you make?
Sunday is a shrimp day for us.
What is your favorite restaurant of all time?
What is your favorite food memory?
My dad always cooked fancy dinners on Fridays and Saturdays. Crepes with shrimp and glace a four/baked Alaska.
What is your food philosophy? How do you like to eat?
I like to eat fresh local food and prefer lighter meals.
How did you eat growing up? Did you have a favorite food?
I ate very healthy food growing up. We always had full-fat milk, butter etc. Even when a lot of people at that time used light products. I did not grow up with snacks.
If I opened your fridge, what would I see?
I have more food in my freezer than in my fridge. Normally, butter, chili, lemon, lettuce, and cucumber.
Pop quiz:
Chocolate or vanilla?
Take out or dining at a restaurant?
Dining at the restaurant.
Breakfast or dinner?
Sweet or savory?
Soup or salad?

Still hungry? Here’s more

Kristen’s Pantry

My name is Kristen and I am a 32 year old woman living in Sacramento, CA. I work at a nature center and love anything outside. I have two dogs and a snake, I enjoy live music, and playing ukulele is one of my favorite hobbies.

Read More »
Catering set up

Caitlyn’s Pantry

I’m a stay-at-home mom to two small boys with a background in coffee. I enjoy crocheting and being outdoors, going on hikes and spending time at the beach. I really became interested in food and cooking when I was 11 or 12 after discovering Rachael Ray on the Food Network. My mom was a great cook and I’d spend a lot of time in the kitchen watching her and trying to help her. She’d show me how to cook something and I’d write down the steps in a notebook. My dad was a baker his entire life but unfortunately that skill skipped my generation.

Read More »

Marisa’s Pantry

I’m a wife and mother of 3 beautiful children. We homeschool and enjoy being out in nature as much as possible. Whole, real, pesticide free food is very important to our family. I would say our style of cooking is ancestral, with bone broth, fermented foods and healthy fats being a top priority.

Read More »